All About Spain Spain | Travel | Regions | Cities | Coasts | Islands | Culture    
  Spain / Aragon EspañolEnglishDeutsch
  Plan your Trip
  The Regions


Book your Travel to Spain

Capital: Zaragoza
Provinces: Huesca, Teruel and Zaragoza

This community, bordering on France with the Pyrenees, is of particular interest for its outstanding mountainous landscapes, with glacier lakes and several natural preserves where you still may observe animals which have been extincted in many other regions of Europe long ago. In total contrast is the plain Ebro valley, which is limited by the mountain range Moncayo, in the east.

When you are crossing Aragon's three provinces, Zaragoza, Huesca and Teruel, with many monumental towns, the splendor of the old Kingdom of Aragon, one of the centers of Spanish culture in medieval times, comes alive again.

The mountain ranges offer great possibilities for winter sports, and during the warm season you may explore this almost virginal natural paradise as well as the region's celebrated gastronomy, artisany and folklore.

The Cities:

The region's capital, located at Ebro river, is one of the great monumental cities of Spain. Its historic heritage of Romans and Moors is documented in its museums.

Most notable are the city's great Mudejar style monuments, consequence of a long Moorish dominance. Highlights include the cathedral with its beautiful belltowers and the churches of San Martin, San Pedro and El Salvador.

Huesca, located at the foot of the Pyrenee mountain range, offers landscapes of incredible beauty.

ALL ABOUT SPAIN © 1996-2023 INTERNET Red 2000, S.L. - SPAIN